7 Wonders of the Ancient World


The Pyramid of Giza was built by the Egyptian Pharaoh Khufu between 2584-2561 BC. It is the oldest of the Ancient Wonders an it is also the only one that remains intact. It was used as a tomb for their Pharaoh, King Khufu.

The Hanging Gardens of Babylon were built by the Babylonians between 605-562 BC. They were built by King Nebuchadnezzar the second for his homesick wife Amytis of Media who missed the trees and plants of her homeland, Persia. The Gardens were destroyed by a series of earthquakes aftre the 1st century BC.

The Statue of  Zeus was built in honor of the Greek God, Zeus by the Greek sculptor Phidias around 432 BC in the Temple of  Zeus, Olympia, Greece. It was destroyed by a fire between the 5th and 6th centuries BC.

The Temple of Artemis was built in honor of the Greek godess, Artemis. It was built in 550 BC at present day Turkey and took 120 years to build. It was completely made of marble exept for the roof. It was destroyed in 356 BC in an arson by Herostratus.

The Mausoleum at Halicarnassus was built as a tomb in 353 BC at Halicarnassus (Turkey) for Mausolus, a satrap in the Persian Empire. It was destroyed in 1494 AD by an earthquake.

The Colossus of Rhodes was a statue of the Greek god Helios. It was erected in 292 BC in the Greek island of Rhodes. It was destroyed by an earthquake in 226 BC.

The Lighthouse of Alexandria was built in 280 BC in Alexandria, Egypt. Its purpose was to guide sailors into the harbor at night. It was destroyed between 1303-1480 AD by an earthquake.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: